Components of an Ottawa University Education

The Ottawa University undergraduate programs focus on the development of the reflective inquirer who thinks critically and questions objectively with a goal of understanding underlying assumptions. To this end, the undergraduate programs at Ottawa University are composed of three parts: liberal arts studies (LAS), the major field of study, and electives. A student’s major provides a focus for in-depth learning of inherent processes, concepts and theories within a particular program of study, while electives provide variety in their study and an opportunity for the exploration of diverse areas. Bridging the major and electives is the LAS core program, which is grounded in common learning outcomes for students at all campuses.